CSJ leadership
The new leadership team for the Sisters of Saint Joseph of Carondelet includes (from left) Sisters Catherine Mary Rosengren, Katherine Rossini and Jill Underdahl.

Sisters Catherine Mary Rosengren, Katherine Rossini and Jill Underdahl have been appointed as the new leadership team for the Saint Paul Province of the Sisters of Saint Joseph of Carondelet (CSJ). Their five-year term began on July 1. Rosengren worked in the province’s finance office and the finance department of the former Saint Joseph’s Hospital for many years. She has also served as province treasurer. Rossini, who was a member of  the CSJ leadership team from 2009-17, was heavily involved in the creation of Carondelet Village. She served as an educator and administrator in schools throughout the Twin Cities. She also oversaw the merger of Christ the King and Saint Thomas the Apostle schools in Minneapolis and served as principal of the new Carondelet Catholic School for 15 years. Underdahl has worked for nearly 30 years with young adults in spirituality, vocational discernment and social justice. She taught junior and senior high school English at Visitation and Hill-Murray and served as Catholic chaplain at Macalester College.

Maria Mitchell was appointed by the governor on May 4 as district court judge in Minnesota’s Second Judicial District. She succeeds the Honorable Robert A. Awsumb and will be chambered in Saint Paul. Mitchell has been an assistant county attorney in Ramsey County, where she has served as the director of the Youth Justice and Wellness Division. Mitchell is on the board of Women’s Advocates in Saint Paul and previously served as a trustee for the Sheltering Arms Foundation and as president of the Minnesota Association of Black Lawyers. 

Elsa Mechelke
Congresswoman Betty McCollum with Elsa Mechelke and her painting, “San Juan Islands.”

Elsa Mechelke, a junior at Highland Park High School, placed third in U.S. Representative Betty McCollum’s 2022 Congressional Art Competition. Her painting, “San Juan Islands,” will be displayed in McCollum’s Fourth District office in Saint Paul.  Forty-four Minnesota students entered the competition.

Andy Rodriguez and Angie Wiese have been appointed directors of the city of Saint Paul’s Departments of Parks and Recreation and Safety and Inspections (DSI), respectively. Wiese joined DSI in 2005. She has served the department as interim director, fire safety manager and fire protection engineer. The current president of the Fire Marshals Association of Minnesota, Wiese earned a master’s degree in Public Administration at Hamline University and a bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering at Purdue University. Rodriguez has worked in the Parks and Recreation Department since 2005 in an array of program and management positions. Since 2019 he has served as manager of recreation services, overseeing the city’s 26 recreation centers. A graduate of Central High School, Rodriguez earned a bachelor’s degree in Metro Urban Studies at Augsburg University.


MyVillager welcomes comments from readers. Please include your full name and the neighborhood in which you live. Be respectful of others and stay on topic. We reserve the right to remove any comment we deem to be profane, rude, insulting or hateful. Comments will be reviewed before being published.

Leave a Reply